Mea Culpa

“Don’t criticize, condemn or complain,” wrote Dale Carnegie in his classic How to Win Friends and Influence People. It’s amazing how often I forget and have to relearn that lesson. Earlier this week, I wrote a letter to B.C. Transit about a bus driver who politely gave up the right of way to me as I tried to make a left turn off Craigflower. I criticized the bus driver, condemning him for potentially putting my safety at risk and for yelling at me when I didn’t take the opportunity he provided to me.

After I blogged about the incident and the letter I sent about it, the comments on that post (and elsewhere) generally agreed with me in principle that it’s potentially unsafe for vehicles to unexpectedly give up the right of way. (Of course, there were some people who disagreed on that point as well.) However, the consensus seems to be that I overreacted by criticizing, condemning and complaining about the situation, and blowing it way out of proportion. My request to B.C. Transit that the driver be disciplined over the matter was “over the top,” as one reader suggested.

Thanks to all of you who have called me to task on this matter. In the future, I will try to be less critical in my blogging, highlighting the many positive aspects of our city  – which include the vast majority of bus drivers who drive safely, professionally and courteously.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Blogs, Cars, Comments, Cycling, Public Transit, Victoria. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mea Culpa

  1. Pingback: Cycling, Transit & Rules of the Road « Vincent's Victoria

Leave a Reply

