Drunk Driving

On Friday, I was riding my bike along Lyall Street in Esquimalt, behind the Archie Browning Sports Centre. The parking lot was filled with carnival rides for Buccaneer Days. A man stepped out of a car parked at the side of the road and staggered a couple of steps into my lane. As I rode past him, I noticed his face was flushed, and raised an eyebrow at him. In a drunken stage whisper, he called out, “Hey, don’t look at me with love in your eyes!” I want him to know that that was derision that I was looking at him with, and fear, and loathing, because drunk driving puts us all at risk. My only regret is that I did not look at his license plate, memorize it, and report him to the police when I got to a nearby phone.

This entry was posted in Automobiles, Cars, Crime, Cycling, Esquimalt, Events, Parking, Pedestrians, Policing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

