Daily Pun – July 12, 2010

The other night, Francesca* and I were making foccacia.

“Have I ever told you the one about the 2000 year old bread?” I asked her.

“No,” she replied, looking suspicious.

“You don’t want to hear it – it’s STALE,” I said, giving her something to CHEW on. Seeing her look rather DEFLATED, I added, “That pun kind of went A-RYE, didn’t it?”

“At YEAST you’re getting a RISE out of me,” she replied, angrily.

“That’s kind of CUTTING remark,” I SLICED back. “This is just something I do when I’m LOAFING around.”

“That’s a good way of separating the WHEAT from the CHAFF,” she shot back, referring to me as the chaff.

“It’s just a way of getting you BUTTERED UP for my better material,” I said, trying not to EAT my words.

Do you think that this is a HALF-BAKED series of puns? Or do you appreciate them as TASTY MORSELS, an indication that I’m engaged in the world? Do I KNEAD to go on?

*Not her real name.

This entry was posted in Puns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

