Daily Puns – July 15, 2010

Today I saw this news story, about construction workers at the World Trade Center site finding a 200 year old boat while doing excavations

I told Francesca’s¹ father about it. Here is our conversation:

“I have a SINKING feeling that this story is going to lead me to make lots of puns,” I told him, “which may put me in HOT WATER with you.”

“COOL DOWN, Vincent,” he said to me. “When you get started punning, they usually come out in a STORM, just STREAMING out continuously.”

“They’re really kind of TRASHY,” I agreed. “But much like early New Yorkers, I use them as FILLER for time and/or space.”

At this point, I noticed that he was looking at me in such a WOODEN manner, that I came to believe that he was really BOARD. “Come on,” I joked, “I’m NAILING these puns!”

“Your puns today really aren’t SHIP-SHAPE,” he informed me. “You really do like to engage in NAVAL GAZING with your puns, don’t you?”

“I’m BANKING² on you getting a chuckle out of them,” I replied. “But it’s tough to DIG so many puns out of my head, and I do seem to be making a HOLY mess out of them.”

¹Not her real name.
²I’m particularly proud of this double pun, on both the financial district surrounding the site, and the river bank that it formerly was.

This entry was posted in Historic Sites, New York City, Puns. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daily Puns – July 15, 2010

  1. Pingback: Poll – Daily Puns | Vincent's Victoria

Leave a Reply

