Final Class – Geog 391: Geocaching

Tomorrow, I start my final class in my BA⎯Geog 391: Geocaching. Here’s a definition of what geocaching is:

Geocaching is a high-tech treasure hunting game played throughout the world by adventure seekers equipped with GPS devices. The basic idea is to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, outdoors and then share your experiences online. Geocaching is enjoyed by people from all age groups, with a strong sense of community and support for the environment.

The course runs August 16-20, 9:30-4:30 every day. It’s an intense way to do a course that would normally be done over a four month term (even more intense than doing Geog 350 over three weeks). I haven’t seen a syllabus yet, but I’m sure I’ll learn and do interesting things this week. I’m particularly excited for two reasons:

1. It looks like a really interesting course. Presumably we’ll discuss issues like the creation of online and offline communities, the social construction of space and place and how geography as a discipline can be used to understand these issues.

2. By the end of the day on Friday, I will have completed all the requirements for by B.A. in History. Barring any unforeseen complications, I should graduate from UBC in November. (I’ve been a visiting student at UVic for the last year, and feel like a UVic student, but my degree will be through UBC).

After I’m done the course, I have two tasks to fill my days:

1. Research and explore graduate programs in history and funding sources. (Hopefully a Masters degree in history, with a focus on the history of cities, starting in the next year or so, and hopefully at UVic).

2. Find a job in a slowly improving job market.

If you have leads or suggestions on either goal, let me know by comment or email.

This entry was posted in Comments, Economy, Education, Employment, Research, UBC, University Courses, UVic. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Final Class – Geog 391: Geocaching

  1. Pingback: Finished Final Class | Vincent's Victoria

Leave a Reply

